July 6, 2009

Value Fiction “Grab Bag” Blog Tour

Value Fiction Brings Readers Summer Relief

Colorado Springs, CO
— Fiction lovers don’t need to budget to travel this summer with Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s eight full-length, historical novels by beloved Christian authors (WaterBrook, June 2, 2009). At the low cost of only $5.99, these well-read “get-aways” provide quality entertainment at a price that any reader can afford.
Full-length historical novels offered include:

The Captain’s Bride
(ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45806-3)
by Lisa Tawn Bergren, book one in Northern Lights series. Experience an epic saga of perseverance and passion, faith and fidelity in a sea adventure from the gentle hills of Bergen, Norway, to rocky coast of
Camden, Maine.

Tommorrow’s Treasure
(ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45808-7)
by Linda Lee Chaikin, book one in East of the Sun series. Family secrets and
a passion for a man of a higher social class draw Evy Varley into a dangerous mystery and disturbing questions about her past.

The Silver Sword
(ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45809-4)
by Angela Elwell Hunt, book one in The Heirs of Cahira O’ Connor series. The auburn-haired O’Conner women push against social limits. Their tale is one of peril, courage, vengeance, love and sacrifice.

The Veil
(ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45807-0)
by Diane Noble. Hannah McClary dares to question the truth behind the shroud of secrecy that cloaks a nineteenth-century sect known as the Saints. Soon she and Lucas Knight, the young man she loves, find themselves fighting for their lives.

Under the Distant Sky
(ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-245-3)
by Al and Joanna Lacy, book one in Hannah of Fort Bridger. Join Hannah and Solomon Cooper as they journey by wagon train to a new life on the frontier. Will they overcome tragedy and great opposition as they strive to live their dream?

A Promise for Breanna
(ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-244-6)
by Al & Joanna Lacy, book one in Angel of Mercy series. Suspense, danger, romance and spiritual truth each play a part in this heroine’s life as she faces the man who once broke her heart and led her to mistrust men.

(ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-256-0)
by Linda Windsor, book one in Fires of Gleannmara. Maire, Warrior Queen of Gleannmara, finds her fierce heart gentled by a reformed mercenary, a Christian, who’s taken hostage during a raid.

A Gathering of Finches
(ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-247-7)
by Jane Kirkpatrick. A turn-of-the-century Oregon coastal couples’ life is seen through the eyes of the wife, her sister, and her Indian maid who discover reasons why money and possessions can’t buy happiness, forgiveness or relieve consequences of choices.

Waterbrook summer release of value line books will also include a 99 Ways (July 2009) and Non-fiction series (September 2009).


As part of this blog tour I received The Veil and A Gathering of Finches. I was most excited about The Veil which is historical fiction based on the Mormon Massacre in Utah in 1857. Having seen the movie September Dawn about the same tragedy I was looking forward to comparing the book and the movie. Now after reading The Veil I find that they are both very different yet both very good in their own way. The Veil was very engaging and I found it very hard to put down. This is a recommended read for all historical fiction and Christian fiction lovers.

Up next for me is A Gathering of Finches and I'm positive it will be just as good.